Provide me with resources, and I’ll provide perfection

Is it better to risk putting out books for sale with a few errors, or make everything perfect and not have your titles out there selling? I am sitting on a whole load of epub files that could go out to our aggregators for sale, but I don’t have the resources to quality check them all. At the same time, I’m aware that we want to get as much out there and selling as we possibly can. Numbers have been mentioned, not by me, but I’m the one with the responsibility of meeting the figures.

I came across this blog post yesterday in the Telegraph which rather makes my blood boil. It’s not my fault that I’m a one man band. There’s this huge demand for ebooks, without the resources. The editorial teams here have been pretty great, but they can’t be expected to drop their day jobs in order to do ebooks full-time. I wouldn’t ask that of them. However, I can’t go through and check hundreds of epub files myself and get them all perfect. Especially when to get any amended I have to make a list of the errors, send this list and the epub via ftp to another company, and then wait for that company to make the amends. And with the complex titles I deal with here, the chances are that there’s a week or two delay just getting any amendments made. I’d much rather do it myself, but I don’t have the tools yet.

The tools will come, but until then, and I’m sorry to say this, but I expect the readers may have to live with errors for a little while longer.* I dislike like this as much as anyone, but please don’t demand that we do more than we’re doing, because we’re already doing an awful lot just to get the books out there in the first place.

*Yes, I know about Sigil. But it’s far from perfect and, as yet, isn’t responsive enough for the speed I want to work at, and the size and complexity of the books I’m dealing with.

~ by kymethra on July 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
